• Home
  • Megan Greene to Receive Woodyard Award

Megan Greene to Receive Woodyard Award

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

LAWRENCE — Megan Greene, associate professor of history at the University of Kansas, is the 2014 recipient of the George and Eleanor Woodyard International Educator Award. The award presentation will be at 4 p.m. Dec. 4 in the Malott Room in the Kansas Union.

The award, coordinated by the Office of International Programs, was endowed by the late George Woodyard, the first dean of international studies, and his wife, Eleanor. It recognizes faculty on the Lawrence campus who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in strengthening KU's international dimension in such areas as curriculum development, study abroad programs, relationships with international partner institutions and collaboration with international colleagues in significant research and publications. The award includes a $1,000 stipend.

“Each year, the call for nominees for the Woodyard Award allows us to see the incredible work that several of our colleagues are doing in respect to international teaching, research and service. We are pleased to celebrate Megan Greene as this year’s recipient. Her comprehensive commitment to and achievements in international education through teaching, research and mentorship made her an excellent choice for this honor. She serves our campus and our students in many beneficial ways,” said Dena Register, director of faculty programs.

Greene’s colleagues nominated her because of her creativity in developing multiple aspects of international education. When she arrived at KU in 2002, there was just one modern Chinese history class. Today, through Greene’s efforts, there are four classes. Greene has also participated in myriad of service that promotes and sustains international studies at KU, including the Task Force on International Affairs Committee, the China Direct Exchange Committee and as a Kansas Asia Scholars Faculty Advisor. She has served as the director of the Center for East Asian Studies since 2009.

Greene's office is busy with students who want to go beyond the classroom discussions and learn more about contemporary China, which demonstrates the time she willingly donates to students, even when pressed by her administrative duties, according to one of her nominators.

Past recipients of the award (formerly known as the Provost's Award for Leadership in International Education) are: Jon Havener, visual art (2013); Erik Herron, political science (2012); Raj Bhala, law (2011); Peter Herlihy, geography, (2010); Elizabeth Kuznesof, history, (2009); Ed Canda, social welfare, (2008); Bill Tsutsui, history (2007); John Head, law (2006); Anita Herzfeld, Latin American studies (2005); Marsha Haufler, art history (2004); Garth Myers, geography and African-American studies, and Robert Timm, ecology and evolutionary biology (2003); Melissa Birch, business, and Diane Fourny, French and European studies (2002); Judith McCrea, art and design (2001); Leo Villalon, political science and African and African-American studies (2000); Tom Mulinazzi, civil, environmental and architectural engineering and Charles Stansifer, history (1999).

KU Endowment is the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment was the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

Connect with us


International Events

Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times