• Home
  • Intercultural Learning & Assessment

Intercultural Learning & Assessment

Students, staff and faculty interact daily with people who are culturally different. The ability to effectively communicate across cultures makes it easier to understand and to be understood. Becoming a skilled intercultural communicator can improve personal and professional experiences.  International Learning & Assessment provides resources to increase intercultural communication competency and confidence, including workshops and consultations for offices, organizations, units and schools across campus.

Cultural differences can lead to complicated situations with international employees. Here are some tips that may help resolve those differences and help with sensitive conversations.

Pronouncing international students' names can be challenging. This video demonstrates a conversation that might help you. 

 

Request a training session or more information

Videos of previous summer workshops on international topics

WORKSHOP CALENDAR

Building Intercultural Skills workshop series spring 2020,  Click Here to register 

Building Intercultural Skills Team

Margaret Coffey, director, International Short Programs, mcoffey@ku.edu

John Dahlstrand, Student Services director, Academic Accelerator Program, jdahlstrand@ku.edu

Rachel Sherman Johnson, director, internationalization & partnerships, KU International Affairs, rachelsj@ku.edu

Chuck Olcese, director, International Support Services, colcese@ku.edu

Angela Perryman, director, Study Abroad & Global Engagement, aperryman@ku.edu

Joe Potts, assistant vice provost, KU International Affairs, jpotts@ku.edu

Alison Watkins, intercultural learning coordinator, KU International Affairs, awatkins@ku.edu

 

 


Connect with us

facebookTwitter

International Events

Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times